# **Cherwell District Council**

#### Council

Minutes of a meeting of the Council held at Bodicote House, Bodicote, Banbury, OX15 4AA, on 1 November 2011 at 6.30 pm

#### Present: Councillor Timothy Hallchurch MBE (Chairman) Councillor Colin Clarke (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor Ken Atack **Councillor Alyas Ahmed Councillor Andrew Beere Councillor Maurice Billington Councillor Norman Bolster** Councillor Ann Bonner Councillor Mrs Diana Edwards Councillor Tim Emptage **Councillor Andrew Fulljames Councillor Mrs Catherine Fulljames Councillor Michael Gibbard Councillor Alastair Milne Home Councillor David Hughes Councillor Russell Hurle Councillor Tony llott Councillor Victoria Irvine** Councillor Mike Kerford-Byrnes **Councillor James Macnamara Councillor Melanie Magee** Councillor Kieron Mallon **Councillor Nigel Morris Councillor George Parish Councillor Lynn Pratt** Councillor G A Reynolds **Councillor Alaric Rose Councillor Daniel Sames** Councillor Leslie F Sibley **Councillor Trevor Stevens Councillor Lawrie Stratford** Councillor Rose Stratford Councillor Patricia Tompson **Councillor Nicholas Turner Councillor Douglas Webb** Councillor Douglas Williamson **Councillor Barry Wood** 

Apologies	Councillor Rick Atkinson
for	Councillor Fred Blackwell
absence:	Councillor Patrick Cartledge
	Councillor Margaret Cullip

Councillor Simon Holland Councillor Chris Heath Councillor Nicholas Mawer Councillor P A O'Sullivan Councillor D M Pickford Councillor Neil Prestidge Councillor Lynda Thirzie Smart Councillor Martin Weir

Officers: Sue Smith, Chief Executive Calvin Bell, Director of Development Ian Davies, Director of Community and Environment Kevin Lane, Head of Law and Governance / Monitoring Officer Karen Curtin, Head of Finance and Procurement James Doble, Democratic, Scrutiny and Elections Manager

#### 44 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

#### 45 **Communications**

The Chairman welcomed Councillor Melanie Magee to her first council meeting following her recent election at the Bicester North By-election in September.

The Chairman reported that he had received the sad news that Councillor Diana Dallyn, Vice-Chairman of South Northamptonshire Council had passed away. Council joined the Chairman in sending condolences to her family and colleagues at South Northamptonshire Council.

The Chairman also advised members that the Chief Constable would be attending the next meeting of Council on 8 December to make a presentation and answer any questions.

## 46 Petitions and Requests to Address the Meeting

There were no petitions or requests to address the meeting.

## 47 Urgent Business

There were no items of urgent business.

#### 48 Minutes of Council

The minutes of the meeting held on 29 September 2011 were agreed as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

## 49 Minutes

# a) Minutes of the Executive, Lead Member Decisions and Executive Decisions made under Special Urgency

#### Resolved

That the minutes of the meeting of the Executive and Lead Member decisions as set out in the Minute Book be received and that it be noted that since the last meeting of Council, one Executive decision had been taken that was subject to the special urgency provisions of the Constitution.

## b) Minutes of Committees

## Resolved

That the minutes of Committees as set out in the Minute Book be received.

## 50 Questions

## a) Written Questions

A written question was submitted by Councillor Beere regarding the number of residents claiming housing benefit within the district compared with 12 months ago. A written answer was provided that confirmed claims had increased by 2.8%. By way of a supplementary question Councillor Beere asked whether it would be possible for a list of social housing rent arrears to be published. In reply Councillor Wood stated that he was not sure if the Council had this information and would ask officers to let Council Beere know if this would be possible.

## b) Questions to the Leader of the Council

Questions were asked and answers received in the following issues:

Waste Recycling Centre: Councillor Emptage Discount on unoccupied properties: Councillor Williamson Return of Icelandic investments: Councillor Lawrie Stratford

## c) Questions to Committee Chairmen on the minutes

There were no questions to the Committee Chairman on minutes.

#### 51 Motions

There were no motions.

## 52 Parliamentary Boundary Review

The Chief Executive submitted a report which sought consideration of the proposals of the Parliamentary Boundary Review and agreement of the council's submission to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the Oxfordshire County Boundary Review.

## Resolved

- (1) That the response on the Parliamentary Boundary Review which proposes the transfer of the Ambrosden & Chesterton and Launton wards of Cherwell District to the Henley constituency be endorsed.
- (2) That the Chief Executive, in consultation with the member working group, be delegated authority to finalise the Council's submission to the Boundary Commission for England.
- (3) That the member working group be requested to continue to meet as required to consider issues emerging from the on-going County and Parliamentary boundary reviews.

#### 53 **Proportionality and Committee Membership**

The Chief Executive submitted a report which sought agreement to the amended constitution of Committees for Municipal Year 2011/12 and advised Council of political group nominations following the results of the Bicester North By-election.

#### Resolved

(1) That the allocation of the seats on the Committees that are subject to the political balance requirements be agreed as set out in the table below following the results of the Bicester North by-election.

LAB CON LD TOTAL 12 10 1 1 **Overview & Scrutiny** Committee 12 10 1 1 Resources and Performance Board 18 1 1 16 **Planning Committee** 12 10 1 1 Personnel Committee 12 1 10 1 Licensing Committee 10 9\* 0\* 1 Appeals Panel

Allocation of Seats to Proportional Committee

Council - 1 November 2011

Accounts, Audit and Risk Committee	8	7	1	0
Joint Personnel Committee	5	4	1	0
Joint Appeals Committee	3	2	1	0
Proportional Total by Committee	92	77	9	6
Aggregate Entitlement	92	78	9	5
Adjustment Required		+1	0	-1

(Liberal Democrat seat to Conservative Group on Appeals Panel, agreed May 2011)

Allocation of Seats to Non Proportional Committees

	TOTAL	CON	LAB	LD
Standards Committee	8	6	1	1
Council and Employee Joint Committee	12	10	1	1
Joint Arrangements Steering Group	5	4	1	0

(2) Appoint Members to serve on each of the Committees set out in Table 2 below in accordance with the nominations made by the Political Groups.
(3)

		Resources & Performance Scrutiny Board	Appeals Panel	Council & Employee Joint Committee	Planning Committee
Remove	Members	Vacancy	Vacancy	Vacancy	-
	Substitute	-	-	-	Vacancy
Add	Members	Cllr Magee	Cllr Magee	Cllr Magee	-
	Substitute	-	-	-	Cllr Magee

## 54 Declaration of Local Nature Reserve - Adderbury Lakes

The Head of Law and Governance submitted a report to enable Members to decide whether to delegate authority to the Executive to consider requests from Parish Councils to delegate to them the power to establish Local Nature Reserves

# Resolved

(1) That the Executive Lead Member be given delegated authority to consider requests from Parish Councils to delegate to them the power to establish local nature reserves.

The meeting ended at 7.02 pm

Chairman:

Date: